Honor is given

Honor doesn’t depend on the other person being right or honoring towards you.

I recently had a conflict with my young adult daughter where I felt dishonored by how she was communicating with me. I got really frustrated and upset and reacted by sending her to bed. (It was the lightest thing I could think of at the moment.. actually proud of that, probably because I knew I was overreacting… slightly).

The reason it even got to that point, was because I had not respected her boundaries. She had said no to a request I made and I simply didn’t like her answer for all sorts of good and bad reasons.

I basically dishonored her by dismissing her stated wishes and boundaries - then when she responded in her frustration, I pulled the honor card and found her guilty of the very thing which I had first done to her. Sigh. I woke up the next morning and apologized to her for that.

Honor doesn’t depend on the other person being right or honoring towards you. Honor is not supposed to be reciprocal... in that, I give it only when I get it or in order to get it.

Honor is beautiful and peaceful when I give it and get it in return. But we don’t give in order to get it... we give it because that’s who we are...

Honor is given, it comes from who I am, not what the other person has done. Honor says more about us than about the person receiving it.

We give it because it’s right, not just when it’s deserved. In fact, honor probably makes more of a relational difference when it’s not deserved.

And in that way, it is much like love. And we all could give out more love and honor...

What does this have to do with worship? Everything.

Love does not traffic in shame and disrespect, nor selfishly seek its own honor. Love is not easily irritated or quick to take offense.

1 Corinthians 13:5 TPT

Join the conversation

or to participate.