Next Step: 'Together' changes everything

Secure your spot on the 'We Lead Worship' early bird waiting list today!

(I know it’s late… but here I am)

We humans love traveling together. We enjoy going on journeys in groups because it's easier and more enjoyable to reach our destination with others. Just yesterday, my wife left for the airport to take a group of about 30 people to Portugal for two weeks as their Tour Manager. They'll visit scenic and historic places as one big group. Things are more enjoyable when we do them together, as there's safety in numbers and a sense of shared experience.

Community and togetherness are built into who we are. Of course, sometimes we want or need to be alone, especially if we're introverted and gain energy from solitude. But there's something important about being together and being part of a community.

I remember when I first left Zimbabwe for Canada to attend university. The first part of my trip was with friends who were also traveling abroad. There were four of us on the flight, which made it special. When we arrived in Europe and went our separate ways, I felt alone for the first time when I boarded my flight to cross the Atlantic.

Later, when I arrived in Toronto, I visited the huge Eaton Centre Mall and was amazed by all the different things I saw. But my enjoyment was somewhat diminished because I had no one to share it with. My journey felt lonely without anyone to share the pleasures and joys with me.

We love going on journeys together, both physical trips and personal growth experiences. It's different learning at home by yourself compared to doing it with others in a classroom. There's a saying “if you want to go somewhere quickly, go alone; but if you want to go far, go together.”

If you are a part of this list - you want to go far. Together, we can become the worship leaders we each know we can be. You want to be a good great worship leader, artist, or songwriter. Easier done - together.

We strive for greatness not for our own glory, but because we understand the power of worship and share a desire to lead people into amazing encounters with Jesus. Learning together in a community is essential.

Gathering as a community allows us to share stories and perspectives that other worship leaders need to hear. It’s one thing to learn from me in a newsletter - it will be even better in our community.

I'm excited to create an online community where we can all benefit, encourage, and spur each other on. We can share our wins and challenges and gain insight from others.

I'd love for you to join the waiting list for this community. Everyone subscribed to this newsletter will be invited before it's launched publicly. I believe it's going to be special and something we can all benefit from because it aligns with how we're designed.

Even the Godhead – Father, Son, and Holy Spirit – exists in community. "Let us make man in our own image," they said, implying that mankind was born out of community. I hope you embrace this opportunity to grow together.

The best way to improve as a worship leader, besides practical things, is to grow, learn, and be encouraged by a community of like-minded people. People going in the same direction as you. People who want the same things as you.

Join the “We Lead Worship” community. It’s what we do; no need to do it alone!

Who are you ‘doing life with’? Remember, it’s WHO, not HOW.

Did this post connect with you?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Worship Leader Pain Points

What ONE part of being a worship leader do you wish could be easier? (Select your answer to see what others think)

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.