The Running, Hugging, Kissing, Dancing God

Abba.

“So the young son set off for home. From a long distance away, his father saw him coming, dressed as a beggar, and great compassion swelled up in his heart for his son who was returning home. The father raced out to meet him, swept him up in his arms, hugged him dearly, and kissed him over and over with tender love.”

- Jesus in Luke 15:20 TPT

Me:
My father runs to me
Hugs me
Kisses me
And dances with me

Father:
I run to redeem you (in your mess)
I hug you with full acceptance (yes, you smell..so sweet)
I kiss you with intense affection (Let people talk)
I dance with pure joy over you (We’re having a party)

You, my beloved, are home.
You are back home with Me

Is this the God we know?
I used to cringe when I heard people causally refer to Him as Abba… too informal, too casual, not reverent, etc…

But this is the Father Jesus introduces us to. Abba.
He’s not often the One we hear, share or let alone sing about.

Let’s believe in what Jesus said, just in case we missed something. If all we knew was what Jesus said about God in the gospels... would we think about God differently? What would we sing about? How would you sing?

He is love. I am loved and fully accepted in Christ.
Read it again. Say it slowly.
Let this truth sink in deeply… because it’s everything.


Join the conversation

or to participate.